2007 Pro Bowl Rosters Named

(Dec. 19, 2006) -- The San Diego Chargers will power the American Football Conference's 2007 Pro Bowl squad with a conference-high nine players -- the most in franchise history -- when the AFC faces the National Football Conference All-Stars, the NFL announced today. The game will be played on Saturday, February 10, in Honolulu, Hawaii (CBS, 6 p..m. ET).

Nine members of the AFC roster are first-time All-Stars, including Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers, in his first year as a starter, and three of his San Diego teammates. The Chargers own the conference's best record at 12-2.


The Chicago Bears placed a conference-high seven players on the National Football Conference All-Star team that will face the American Football Conference All-Stars in the 2007 Pro Bowl on Saturday, February 10 in Honolulu, Hawaii (CBS, 6:00 PM ET), the NFL announced today.

Thirteen NFC players will participate in their first Pro Bowl, including Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo, who has won six of his first eight career starts and guided the Cowboys to a playoff birth.


The 42-man AFC and NFC squads are comprised of 21 offensive and 17 defensive players plus four specialists. A 43rd "need" player will be chosen by the head coach and must be a cornerback, defensive end, linebacker or long snapper.

The NFL is the only professional sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players in determining its all-star teams. The consensus vote of each group counts one-third towards the total. Each team submits two ballots -- those of the coach and the players with no one permitted to vote for a player on his own team. This year, nearly 70 million fan votes (69.8 million) were cast on NFL.com, in stadiums and via Sprint or Nextel wireless.

The NFC defeated the AFC 23-17 last season in the Pro Bowl. The all-time series is tied 18-18. The 2007 AFC coaching staff will be from the AFC Championship Game runner-up team and the same goes for the NFC squad.

Under terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, each player on the winning Pro Bowl team receives $40,000, while each player on the losing squad earns $20,000.

[color=#CC0000]AFC Pro Bowl Roster[/color]
Starters - Offense
Peyton Manning, IND
LaDainian Tomlinson, SD
Lorenzo Neal, SD
Andre Johnson, HOU
Chad Johnson, CIN
Antonio Gates, SD
Nick Hardwick, SD*
Alan Faneca, PIT
Will Shields, KC
Willie Anderson, CIN
Jonathan Ogden, BAL

Starters - Defense
Jason Taylor, MIA
Aaron Schobel, BUF*
Richard Seymour, NE
Jamal Williams, SD
Adalius Thomas, BAL
Shawne Merriman, SD
Al Wilson, DEN
Champ Bailey, DEN
Rashean Mathis, JAC*
Troy Polamalu, PIT
Ed Reed, BAL

Special Teams
Brian Moorman, BUF
Nate Kaeding, SD*
Justin Miller, NYJ*
Kassim Osgood, SD*

Reserves - Offense
Carson Palmer, CIN
Philip Rivers, SD*
Larry Johnson, KC
Willie Parker, PIT*
Marvin Harrison, IND
Reggie Wayne, IND*
Tony Gonzalez, KC
Jeff Saturday, IND
Brian Waters, KC
Tarik Glenn, IND (Injured)

Reserves - Defense
Derrick Burgess, OAK
Casey Hampton, PIT
Terrell Suggs, BAL
Zach Thomas, MIA
Chris McAlister, BAL
John Lynch, DEN

[color=#0000CC]NFC Pro Bowl Roster[/color]
Starters - Offense
Drew Brees, NO
Frank Gore, SF*
Mack Strong, SEA
Torry Holt, STL
Steve Smith, CAR
Alge Crumpler, ATL
Olin Kreutz, CHI
Shawn Andrews, PHI*
Steve Hutchinson, MIN
Walter Jones, SEA
Jammal Brown, NO*

Starters - Defense
Julius Peppers, CAR
Will Smith, NO*
Kevin Williams, MIN
Tommie Harris, CHI
Lance Briggs, CHI
DeMarcus Ware, DAL*
Brian Urlacher, CHI
Ronde Barber, TB
DeAngelo Hall, ATL
Adrian Wilson, ARI*
Brian Dawkins, PHI

Special Teams
Mat McBriar, DAL*
Robbie Gould, CHI*
Devin Hester, CHI*
Brendon Ayanbadeho, CHI*

Reserves - Offense
Marc Bulger, STL
Tony Romo, DAL*
Tiki Barber, NYG
Steven Jackson, STL*
Donald Driver, GB
Anquan Boldin, ARI
Jeremy Shockey, NYG
Matt Birk, MIN
Larry Allen, SF
Chris Samuels, WAS

Reserves - Defense
Aaron Kampman, GB*
Kris Jenkins, CAR
Julian Peterson, SEA
Lofa Tatupu, SEA
Lito Sheppard, PHI
Roy Williams, DAL
* First time Pro Bowl selection

And of course, there are plenty of articles about who got snubbed:
Adam Schefter, NFL.com
Pete Prisco, CBS SportsLine.com
John Clayton, EPSN.com

I didn't think Tatupu deserved it at all and I thought Peterson should have started. Also, as the article mentioned, Rivers and not Brady? Jackson over Westbrook?


(Except for Frank Gore)

Shawne Merriman, SD

Its good to know that cheating can get you into the pro Bowl.

Good to see Ronde Barber made it in. 1st time Brooks has not been there for awhile.

Disappointed to not see John Henderson make the roster, he's having an outstanding year. The three interior D-linemen that did make the list are at least in my top 10 (probably top 6) of AFC interior linemen, so I can't complain too much.

Willie Anderson does not belong on the list - he's a long-time stud who's no longer at the peak of his position.
Same with Zach Thomas, still a good player but younger, less "name" players are playing better MLB in the AFC now.

Larry Allen is a questionable call too, he's not the player he was 10 years ago. He's had a good season, not a great one. "Good" just happened to be a nice upgrade over the 49ers' usual offensive line situation of complete and utter disarray.

Walter Jones hasn't had a great season either, don't know if he deserves a starting spot this year.

GREAT to see Jammal Brown in, he struggled early on in his transition to the left tackle spot, but since then he has exceeded all reasonable expectations.

Nice to see Rashean Mathis in, he's played at a Pro Bowl level for a couple of seasons now. INT stats finally got him noticed.

OUTSTANDING to see Adrian Wilson in, and ahead of Roy "Bit Hits, Can't Cover" Williams. Williams still gets a completely undeserved reserve spot, but at least Wilson gets the starting spot he deserves.

Kris Jenkins has absolutely no business being anywhere near this list.

Westbrook should have gotten a nod. It's his best season as an Eagle and they wouldn't even have a chance of making the playoffs without his efforts.