Conference Call Live!

With everyone else off doing exciting things at PAX, those of us left behind will lift our glasses to those more fortunate than ourselves. Come join us as we drown our sorrows in hyperbole and vitriol!

When: Saturday, September 5th, 8PM EST!

Where: USTREAM!

How: Best bet is to make a USTREAM account, then you can participate in the chat!

What: We'll be doing live questions from the studio audience!

Why: Because we're not at PAX.

Look forward to seeing you all there! I promise to talk in exclamation points for the entire show!

Comments

That was a great show. Thanks guys!

Great show...nice to finally have the opportunity to listen live for once.

One quick point before I head for bed:

Unless my sleep deprived mind was playing tricks on me I think Rabbit mentioned wanting a Rama game?

There actually apparently was one back in 1996 by Sierra (and an earlier text adventure)

wikipedia wrote:

A graphic adventure computer game with a text parser based on the book was made in 1984 by Telarium (formerly known as Trillium) and ported to other systems such as the Apple II and Commodore 64. Despite its primitive graphics, it had highly detailed descriptions, and it followed the book very closely along with having puzzles to solve during the game. It was adapted from the Clarke novel in 1983 by Ron Martinez, who went on to design the massively multiplayer online game 10Six, also known as Project Visitor.

Sierra Entertainment created Rama in 1996 as a point and click adventure game in the style of Myst. Along with highly detailed graphics, Arthur C. Clarke also appeared in the game as the guide for the player. This game featured characters from the sequel book Rama II.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rama_(video_game)

Thanks to everyone who came out tonight -- over 200 people -- I was a bit shocked. Anyone who didn't register, I encourage you to do so next time so you can join chat and ask questions.

Not sure when next time is, but this is fun and different, so we'll for sure do one of these every once in a while.

If you're truly lamenting, and don't want the bad parts edited, the live shows are always archived at:

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/gwjcc

The latest show should be there now.

By the way, I was the one who originally asked the Kurt Cobain (mainly because I heard the videos brought up on the radio when I was riding around this afternoon with my dad) and the one about the superheroes. Just wish my dust-clogged PC hadn't crapped out on me while watching you guys. Oh well.

And for the record, Elysium ... Led Zeppelin >>> Pink Floyd as far as a music/rhythm game does. Granted, Zep (Page) will probably never get off their (his) high horse for it to ever happen, but assuming the question was more of a "wish list" thing, Zep would be my pick by far over Floyd. As far as Floyd goes, I'd say just release "The Wall" as DLC and be done with it. Zeppelin, on the other hand, has many more songs that (IMO) would be better suited for a RB/GH implementation.

But since I'm a metalhead, my dream games would be (1) Guitar Hero: Slayer, (2) Guitar Hero: Pantera (R.I.P. Darrell), (3) Guitar Hero: Anthrax, and (4) Guitar Hero: Megadeth. The reason I'd rather have them as GH games is for the Expert+ drum mode. IMAGE(http://i.pbase.com/o4/98/583898/1/64174001.gIW7Nt7s.headbang.gif)

Here are a few random world capitals:

...
Sydney - 10 AM

Sydney is not Australia's capital.

superslug wrote:
Here are a few random world capitals:

...
Sydney - 10 AM

Sydney is not Australia's capital.

True, but then Canberra is pretty much a useless city unless you are a politician or a skateboarder. Sorry, I don't mean to dis it if it's your hometown or something, but I was trapped there for an eternity (several weeks) and being an old American dude on a cheap skateboard was my only salvation. It was HELL.

But since I'm a metalhead, my dream games would be (1) Guitar Hero: Slayer, (2) Guitar Hero: Pantera (R.I.P. Darrell), (3) Guitar Hero: Anthrax, and (4) Guitar Hero: Megadeth. The reason I'd rather have them as GH games is for the Expert+ drum mode.

Despite our best efforts, these peace talks will never reach fruition. There is no accord to be had between us. Our cultures are just too alien to one another.

One of these days I will be able to make one of these Saturday night live podcasts.

I don't know if a live podcast can be exciting if I'm not there, drinking to excess. I bet it was easier to follow, though.

Elysium wrote:
But since I'm a metalhead, my dream games would be (1) Guitar Hero: Slayer, (2) Guitar Hero: Pantera (R.I.P. Darrell), (3) Guitar Hero: Anthrax, and (4) Guitar Hero: Megadeth. The reason I'd rather have them as GH games is for the Expert+ drum mode.

Despite our best efforts, these peace talks will never reach fruition. There is no accord to be had between us. Our cultures are just too alien to one another.

Perhaps you could discuss your feelings about The Who? If you reach far enough back, there must be a common ancestor to your cultures, whereupon you may find some common ground.

I can't say I'm well versed in knowing where the overlap may be, however. For my part, it's easy enough to find commonalities between punk and both metal and the classic rock my father-in-law refers to as "old guy music." (Note: Any judgment in that term is his as an "old guy" and as a member of a classic rock cover band. I may not celebrate all of Foreigner's catalog, but I do enjoy their greatest hits.)

superslug wrote:
Here are a few random world capitals:

...
Sydney - 10 AM

Sydney is not Australia's capital.

I had meant to change it to "major world cities" when I added Sydney, but I forgot.

Time Zone Converter

Use United States - New York, New York for Eastern Standard Time.

Edit:

Here are a few random world capitals major world cities:

London - 1 AM
Johannesburg - 2 AM
Berlin - 2 AM
Jerusalem - 3 AM
Moscow - 4 AM
New Delhi - 5:30 AM
Beijing - 8 AM
Tokyo - 9 AM
Sydney - 10 AM

Re-orient yourselves accordingly.

True, but then Canberra is pretty much a useless city unless you are a politician or a skateboarder. Sorry, I don't mean to dis it if it's your hometown or something, but I was trapped there for an eternity (several weeks) and being an old American dude on a cheap skateboard was my only salvation. It was HELL.

i don't think canberra is anyone's actual home town unless your parents are civil servants.
Did you go to Questacon? Admittedly I was 12 when i went there last but a hands on science museum should be fun for a geek/nerd of any age, also until very recently it was the only place in Australia you could buy fire crackers. I think its hard to get them even there now. It probably wouldn't have continued to be great for several weeks though.

In terms of time zones though I am pretty sure it matches Sydney so could have been used anyway. Also it's not a big deal I was mostly just being a dick.