Extra Life 2022

Hey folks, it's 2022 already. As some of you might know, Extra Life, does focus on Game Day, which will be on November 5th this year.
That being said, fundraising efforts are ongoing, and you can already check out or join the GWJ team.
I do hope you will once again join us to support Children's Hospitals in all corners of the United States and Canada. As you might imagine, every little bit helps, so please join the GWJ team and/or donate via any of the goodjers participating in the event.

Reviving this post as Game Day is fast approaching. Come join the Extra Life team, it's fun!! And it's for the kids!
I'm starting to get Extra Life fever, looking at my calendar, planning what games I want to stream. Very exciting, I'm super looking forward to it! Looks like I'll be streaming on October 27-29th this year, even though Game Day is on November 5th (conflicting schedules, all that).

Once again calling folks to come join the Gamers With Jobs team, because every little bit helps!! You can stream as much or as little as you want, the most important is spreading the word!!

Hi Eleima you have both my bow and axe if you’re running Guild Wars content! (Dad joke cause my latest character is a ranger).

Or be happy to run some strategy game as part of the strategy club.

Oh, that's a great idea!!! Might do some GW2 runs in the Labyrinth, because it'll be Mad King time around that time of the year. I'm starting to plan my calendar, and I'll definitely put that in there somewhere, thank you!

I have joined the team correctly this year! 100% improvement over last year. Ready to rock!

Every year I think, "oh, it would be fun to stream something!" And every year, I think my schedule ends up getting too crowded (plus I've never streamed anything and I'm sure it's not hard, but learning how is one of those little barriers). But I'd love to support the team!

LastSurprise wrote:

Every year I think, "oh, it would be fun to stream something!" And every year, I think my schedule ends up getting too crowded (plus I've never streamed anything and I'm sure it's not hard, but learning how is one of those little barriers). But I'd love to support the team!

Same. I mean I have a PC, headset, discord, twitch accounts.... surely I could do something.

Hooray for Meebs joining the team!! And thanks, LastSurprise and Stele, we appreciate your support, that already helps loads! As we always say, every little bit helps. If you're not able to join the Gamers With Jobs team, you can always donate via any of the team members' pages.

I've done a little workshopping on my end, drawing from my backlog and what my most loyal viewers would like to see, and I think I've made a tentative schedule. Now I won't be streaming on Game Day (November 5th) because of parenting duties, but a week earlier. This is what I'm looking at:

Thursday, October 27th, 2022

  • Control (09:00 CET, 04:00 EST, 01:00 PST)
  • Shigatari (11:00 CET, 06:00 EST, 03:00 PST)
  • LUNCH BREAK (13:00 CET, 08:00 EST, 05:00 PST)
  • Resonance (14:00 CET, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST)
  • Control (17:00 CET, 12:00 EST, 09:00 PST)
  • DINNER BREAK (19:00 CET, 14:00 EST, 11:00 PST)
  • The Banner Saga 3 (20:00 CET, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST)
  • Yes, Your Grace (22:00 CET, 17:00 EST, 14:00 PST)

Friday, October 28th, 2022

  • BREAKFAST (09:00 CET, 04:00 EST, 01:00 PST)
  • SteamWorld Dig (10:00 CET, 05:00 EST, 02:00 PST)
  • LUNCH BREAK (13:00 CET, 08:00 EST, 05:00 PST)
  • The Banner Saga 3 (14:00 CET, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST)
  • Contradiction - Spot the Liar (16:00 CET, 11:00 EST, 08:00 PST)
  • Control (18:00 CET, 13:00 EST, 10:00 PST)
  • DINNER BREAK (20:00 CET, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST)
  • Guild Wars 2 (21:00 CET, 16:00 EST, 13:00 PST)
  • Yes, Your Grace (22:00 CET, 17:00 EST, 14:00 PST)

Saturday, October 29th, 2022

  • BREAKFAST (09:00 CET, 04:00 EST, 01:00 PST)
  • Contradiction - Spot the Liar (10:00 CET, 05:00 EST, 02:00 PST)
  • Guild Wars 2 (12:00 CET, 07:00 EST, 04:00 PST)
  • LUNCH BREAK (13:00 CET, 08:00 EST, 05:00 PST)
  • Control (14:00 CET, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST)
  • SteamWorld Dig (16:00 CET, 11:00 EST, 08:00 PST)

Looking forward to it!!

Eleima wrote:

Hooray for Meebs joining the team!! And thanks, LastSurprise and Stele, we appreciate your support, that already helps loads! As we always say, every little bit helps. If you're not able to join the Gamers With Jobs team, you can always donate via any of the team members' pages.

I've done a little workshopping on my end, drawing from my backlog and what my most loyal viewers would like to see, and I think I've made a tentative schedule. Now I won't be streaming on Game Day (November 5th) because of parenting duties, but a week earlier. This is what I'm looking at:

Thursday, October 27th, 2022

  • Control (09:00 CET, 04:00 EST, 01:00 PST)
  • Shigatari (11:00 CET, 06:00 EST, 03:00 PST)
  • LUNCH BREAK (13:00 CET, 08:00 EST, 05:00 PST)
  • Resonance (14:00 CET, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST)
  • Control (17:00 CET, 12:00 EST, 09:00 PST)
  • DINNER BREAK (19:00 CET, 14:00 EST, 11:00 PST)
  • The Banner Saga 3 (20:00 CET, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST)
  • Yes, Your Grace (22:00 CET, 17:00 EST, 14:00 PST)

Friday, October 28th, 2022

  • BREAKFAST (09:00 CET, 04:00 EST, 01:00 PST)
  • SteamWorld Dig (10:00 CET, 05:00 EST, 02:00 PST)
  • LUNCH BREAK (13:00 CET, 08:00 EST, 05:00 PST)
  • The Banner Saga 3 (14:00 CET, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST)
  • Contradiction - Spot the Liar (16:00 CET, 11:00 EST, 08:00 PST)
  • Control (18:00 CET, 13:00 EST, 10:00 PST)
  • DINNER BREAK (20:00 CET, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST)
  • Guild Wars 2 (21:00 CET, 16:00 EST, 13:00 PST)
  • Yes, Your Grace (22:00 CET, 17:00 EST, 14:00 PST)

Saturday, October 29th, 2022

  • BREAKFAST (09:00 CET, 04:00 EST, 01:00 PST)
  • Contradiction - Spot the Liar (10:00 CET, 05:00 EST, 02:00 PST)
  • Guild Wars 2 (12:00 CET, 07:00 EST, 04:00 PST)
  • LUNCH BREAK (13:00 CET, 08:00 EST, 05:00 PST)
  • Control (14:00 CET, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST)
  • SteamWorld Dig (16:00 CET, 11:00 EST, 08:00 PST)

Looking forward to it!! :D

this one is a banger of a schedule!

though tbh i find the lack of breakfast on Thursday a bit disturbing

Always start with breakfast!

There will ALWAYS be breakfast, I just usually cut them out if the posted schedule. ^^

I've been mostly lurking in the community here for a long time, but decided I want to try to participate! Not sure yet when exactly I'll stream, but I have a few ideas for what to stream, and I went ahead and joined the team on Extra Life. Can't say I've done anything like this before, and I'm even pretty new to streaming...
Are there any general guidelines I should look at before I really get started?

Awesome, we're super glad to have you!!! As for general guidelines, we typically abide by Extra Life's, as well as the Code of Conduct here, but aside from that... knock yourself out! There are so many ways to raise awareness and donations, and you pretty much have to go with what will work best for you. Traditionally, we're supposed to stream 24 hours straight on Game Day (November 5th this year), but honestly, who has the stamina for that? A good starting point is planning around specific days, and trying to drum up interest. I recommend having links ready, there are some handy widgets too, depending on which platform you're streaming on. We also had some neat GWJ Extra Life scenes that had been created a couple of years ago and that look lovely, I'll have to check with Meebs if those are still around and kicking.
But most importantly.... have fun!

Super pleased to see new people join, so a big thank you to cthos and Pink Stripes. Naiv, you joined a while back, but I think I neglected to give you a shout out, so thanks goes out to you as well!

I'm getting super excited and looking forward to it. Actually considering starting a day or two earlier, perhaps Tuesday through Saturday. Though I might call it a little earlier on Saturday. I'm not sure. Looks like I'll be making a schedule and then basically winging it, like I always do. Guess you'll just have to tune in to find out what the heck I'm up to!

Eleima wrote:

Super pleased to see new people join, so a big thank you to cthos and Pink Stripes. Naiv, you joined a while back, but I think I neglected to give you a shout out, so thanks goes out to you as well!

I'm getting super excited and looking forward to it. Actually considering starting a day or two earlier, perhaps Tuesday through Saturday. Though I might call it a little earlier on Saturday. I'm not sure. Looks like I'll be making a schedule and then basically winging it, like I always do. Guess you'll just have to tune in to find out what the heck I'm up to!

iirc Control has been on this list for 2 years now? so yeah, it's basically an annual Eleima game jam improv. which is a ton of fun as usual.
also I'm kinda glad you stream earlier than the game day itself as it gives folks on the team (at least me) a chance to tune in to you without overlapping with their own streams.

Heh, we’ll not two years, but yeah, I did have a failed start with it last year. But now my settings have been adjusted, my rig beefed up, so I don’t foresee any issues.
And thanks! Looking forward to playing Guinea pig! ^^